Help needed!!

Posted: September 5, 2005 in alimento delicioso, Libya

To all my Libyan @ North African friends / bloggers,

I am in desperate need (my mom actually!) of a recipe of a Libyan @ Tunisian dish. My mom has been pestering for ages now, she’s trying to cook this dish for sometime.

Basically, what she said it was, cooked rice covered and rolled into large leaves and then I guess you cook them for I don’t know how long. I know I’m being very vague here, but please do help me if you can!

p/s it’s not cous cous ;P, I know that!

Thank You so much!

muah muah muah

Comments
  1. smokey spice says:

    Hmmm… is it cabbage or grape leaves?

    I don’t know if you’ve ever been to my blog. I found your’s through Highlander’s and am really enjoying it.

    I’m also Libyan and am asking your permission to have a link to your blog from mine. Would that be okay? In return, I will seek out this recipe for you. πŸ˜‰

    Let me know.

    Salamat

  2. smokey spice says:

    Am I a dork or what? You’re red enclave. I know you’ve been to my blog. Sorry for the brain lapse there.

    So…. can I post your’s?

  3. redENCLAVE says:

    Sure no problem. I think it may be grape leaves!

  4. Highlander says:

    grape leaves or cabbage leaves ..try this website http://www.janzour.com he has dozens of libyan recipes with photos. If it is cabbage leaves the name would be ‘dolma’

  5. redENCLAVE says:

    Thanks. I’ll check it out!

  6. smokey spice says:

    I thought dolma was with the grape leaves. Or is that just the shami word? so what do we call the grape leaves stuffed with rice?

  7. redENCLAVE says:

    I think it’s dolma (grape leaves). I checked on the web. But am not sure which are the right ones. Have you tried them out before?

  8. smokey spice says:

    Yes, I’ve tried them, but I eat the vegetarian ones and don’t even remember any others really. Try this http://www.ivu.org/recipes and let me know whether it works.

  9. zanzibar says:

    NAMING

    The whatever-u-wanna-call-em vine leaf thingies have so many different recepies, from Egypt’s mahshi waraq 3enab to the Khaleeji one with pine nuts and the Persian version which i think has raisins.

    As far as i know it’s mostly in Tripoli that they use the Greek/Turkish name Dolma, I’ve always known it as Abrak but I think they’re basically the same. There are loads of different ways even in one country tho, so i hope this is similar to the one your mum is looking for πŸ™‚

    PS Cud’nt find your e-mail so i posted it here

  10. zanzibar says:

    PREPARING

    if you’re using pickled vine leaves just rinse.
    Fresh (must be young) vine leaves need to be dipped in boilng water for a few secs.
    Remove any big stalks & trim into roughly square shapes
    …and you’re ready to roll.

    STUFFING O.K, this is the trickiest part

    ..but since there’s loads of pernickkity technical advice on the art of making these fiddley parcels on the net, all i can say is practise makes perfect.

  11. redENCLAVE says:

    Thanks alot. I’ll cut & copy and print it out. Will tell you how it goes!

  12. highlander says:

    The Shami call it Waraq eneb for the Vine leaves. Dolma or brak is the libyan version as Zanzi said also in Libya we mostly use cabbage not vine leaves.

    Tell us how it went πŸ™‚

  13. Nefertiti says:

    we also in Egypt call it Waraq “leaves” enab “grapes”. This is how we cook it.try it first with one cup of rice (rather short round)
    Ingredients:
    – 1 cup of pre washed rice.
    – a handfull of finely chopped parsley
    – 1medium finely chopped onion
    – 1 tablespoon of tomato puree.
    – 1 teaspoon of finely chopped garlic
    – 3 tablespoons of corn oil
    – 20-30 vine leaves.
    – 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth.
    -salt, pepper

    – Boil some water and add to it some drops of lime or lemon juice, put the vine leaves into the boiling water until colour changes.leave to cool and then remove the tips and put them in the bottom of the cooking casserole.
    – I a frying pan put the oil and onions and fry until gold then add the parsley and the tomato puree and add half a cup of water . Simmer for a little bit then add the pre-washed rice and mix with a wooden spoon for 2-3 minutes, then leave it to cool down for sometime tobe able to start the stuffing process.
    – Take one leave at a time, unfold it on a plate and put a teaspoon of the mixture at its center. Now fold the two sides on it , then roll it to become like a cigar the put it in the casserole and repeat arranging the stuffed leaves in a circular way.
    – Add a few drops of lemon or lime juice and add the chopped garlic.
    – Start the cooking on low temperature and leave it for sometime as the juices will start the cooking process then as it gets dry add the chicken broth.
    – put a fork into any of the stuffed vine leaves if u find that it has become tender then thats it ” Bon Appetit”
    – The best is to eat it with yogurt salad

Leave a Reply

