Oil Companies School, Tripoli, Libya

School’s Open Day

 

Parents waiting patiently at the the school’s corridor

Posted by Picasa

72 Replies to “Oil Companies School, Tripoli, Libya”

  1. Helo, my name is francis a citizen of nigeria, im interested in oil company school tripoli,libya so what is the procedure if i want to apply.

    I will like to here from you soonext.

    your regard,
    Francis joseph.

  2. Hello ,

    I was a student at the OCS in tripoli in the nineties 90 – 94 , is there anyway of getting in touch with former schoolmates?

  3. Francis and Musa,
    You should visit the school’s official website. Unfortunately, it hasn’t been updated. However please give it a try. Good Luck 8)
    ISM

    Haitham,
    Hello to you too. One popular way of getting in touch is by going to this unofficial OCS website. You’d have to register though! Please do, you won’t regret it, I promise. Humm, the website’s down at the moment. I’ll have to contact my friend as her sister is one of the moderators.

    Another option is by visiting classmates.com. There are hundreds of former students registered there. The downside is you’d have to be a golden member in order to contact each other.

  4. Amir
    I’ve come across your name before. I can’t seem to remember where or when. Which grade were you in when you last left OCS? 😉

  5. i cant really remember clearly but i think i was there 1-3 grade … Man i wish i could remember my class-mates but honestly i forgot everything about lybia… Im in Sarajevo,Bosnia now…

  6. Ahh, I must have got everything mixed up, then! 8)
    Have you registered your name in the now defunct website : http://www.ocslibya.com.? I hope it’s only temporary! Don’t you keep a yearbook? I fortunately have one. The one & only, I have not received te following year’s year book due to the bad r/s between Libya & the US then!

  7. Hi … I am registered on the http://www.ocslibya.com website … and used it a few months ago .. but now its a kazino website … do you know what happened … is there a new website for it?
    Ps. Any1 from years 2003 – 2007 graduates?
    Regards
    Rand

  8. Hi Missy ,
    l was there during those approximet years. l arrived for half way through grade eight and was ther for about a year and a half or so after. Did some home schooling after grade nine was done…what grade where you in?? l used to hang around the Grahams ..Roberta Babcock..would love to hear from her again..there was also Marvella Smith Charlie Meyers Mickey Woods etc. Not sure if you will be back on this site but if you know of any of their where abouts it would be great..l will add this site to my favs so l can come back and check again..l kinda stumbled upon it . Wishing you the best
    Cindy

  9. there r a lot of OCS/CUSAM/ISM students and former students on the http://www.hi5.com website.. also at least 2 groups for OCS and ISM there as well as on yahoo, msn.
    i have also found quite a lot of people thru a site called http://www.thenamesdatabase.com (i think that’s correctly written and i’m sure u’ll find it anyway even if not..), there u can search for people u remember by name and age 😀 great stuff.

    well have fun all of u and i hope u find ur friends again.

    the OCS spirit is still out there and still going strong!! ;D 😀

  10. Lived in Tripoli from 1962 – 1976. Attended OCS and the RR horse riding club. Teen Club was a great place for americans to swim and play sports. There is a reunion this July 20th in Houston, Tx. Would love to meet old and new friends.
    email: Kelly_Davis_01@Hotmail.com

  11. please i need the school phone number, i have 2 kids and we just got here from USA and i am looking for good school for my kids. if you can help please let me know.
    idris alhaddad
    91-373-2730

  12. I attended OCS 1977-1980 with Mr.Bruscuss as my homeroom teacher. Mr. Baker was the PE teacher among others. Reply
    Hani Shaanan
    916-685-6431
    Elk Grove, California

  13. Just to let you all now the website ocslibya is back up and running ..but is now dot org..Have fun searching:):)

  14. Haitham:
    Hey Man!! I hope you’ll get to read my message. I am in Facebook and so are tons of other guys–Kriton, Bogi, Sinem, Ozgur, Salman. We are trying to track down our old friends…

    Hope you are doing well, man and hope to connect with you soon. It’s been ages…

    Romel
    romelmostafa@gmail.com

  15. I was living in Tripoli -83 to -84 it was a nice yer
    I went bak to se the school now thi´s christmas 2007. The havent don a thinnk wed the school. But the city was biger and the havd many nice things ther to bay and the food was good. I was staing in Baba afikan hotel wery nice in did.
    so now Iam back in coold Sweden Stockholm

  16. i studied in ocs between 1982 to 85 i had a teacher whos name was miss tenerelli, does anyone remember ? If there is someone that studied there on this period send me a male ok !!!

  17. i studied in ocs between 1982 to 85 i had a teacher whos name was miss tenerelli, does anyone remember ? If there is someone that studied there on this period send me a male ok !!!

  18. I AM IN OCS SCHOOL NOW BUT THEY CHANGED THE SCHOOL NAME IT IS ISM INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL MARTYS IAM IN GRADE 7 2007-2008.

  19. I have attended OCS between 82 and 85 I am today warking at British Council Libya, can any one help me to find Nadia Kawaa or give me any news of here

  20. I attended the OCS BETWEEN 82 85, I am today working at British Council Libya, one of my best frinds of that time at OCS were Nadia Kawa from palestain, I would very appreciate if any one could give me news of here or e-mail.

  21. I study now in ism. Ism is a good school. I like it so much i study there from grade 4 and now i am going to grade 10 and i would like to graduate in it as my brother did Malek Fituri. Thanks.

  22. I think i might be attending this school for this year (2008-2009) ….Can anyone tell me how the school is….i mean is it acually a good school to go to? What are the good and bad things about it?
    please do reply a.s.a.p
    thank you 🙂

  23. yeah , I like this school , ISM intrenational school libya , in last oil school

    from libya – aymen

    أصداء و محبي و أوفياء الرحال الليبي يوسف العابيدي

  24. كلنا نحب مدارس النفط الليبية , المعروفة باسم المدرسة الأمريكية بحي الاندلس , انها افضل مدارس في ليبيا

    اخوكم ايمن

  25. I have got a job in the Al fateh University recently. I intend bringing my wife and my boy to Tripoli. I want to admit my boy to 8th standard. I request you to send me information regarding fee and selection procedure; Will he have to learn Arabic?

  26. WOW!! I went to OCS from kindergarten till the 8th grade. I was about a year or 2 old when we moved to Libya. I went back in 1982 and worked the one of the office’s at the school for the summer break. Libya will always be home in my heart even thou I was not born there. I would love to go back one day but I will probably never have the chance. Libya was an experience that I will NEVER forget in my life! The memories will live in my heart forever! Wish all of you the best of luck. Pay attention to every moment in your life cause life is short and we only have one life to live. Be safe .. take care.. bye 4 now

  27. Wow,being on Ocs in 1976-1977 and enjoyed it so much,but can´t remember
    any classmates… I was in 7th grade
    chris from germany!!!!

  28. Hello,

    I plan to put both my kids in school in Tripoli – possibly in ISM. I would like to know if Arabic is a compulsory language?

  29. i went to ocs only for my 7th grade back in 1978-79 . mr. thomas was my homeroom teacher. i previously attended the british school that i have found memories of. can’t remember the name… started with an M. all my teachers were from india or pakistan.

  30. Hello. Sorry but i have a lot of questions! Does this school have a website? What program does is it follow? IGCSE, A Levels, etc.? Is it a good school? And what are the nationalities of the teachers? Thank you very much

  31. hi there greetings from germany:)
    I am trying to get in touch with the ocs school in tripoli –
    has anyone got the contacts to them ???
    thank you for your attention .

  32. hi i used 2 study in ism school its the best school i ever been 2 ive got loadz of friends and great memories from there
    i used 2 study in grd 3 4 5 6 years 2003 to 2006

  33. Howdy that’s a very fascinating view, It does give one food for thought, I am genuinely delighted I stumbled on your blog, i was using Stumbleupon at the time, in any case i don’t want to drift on too much, but i would like to mention that I will be back when I have a little time to read your blog more thoroughly, Once again thank you for the blog post and please do keep up the good work,

  34. i used to study in ism grades 1 ,2,3,4 that school was the best school ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    great dayz.the best thing was the school (newspaper).and ofcourse the friends and teachers.(the wrse dayz were tests,exams,when ur parents have to talk to the teachers,and reort card day………!!!!!!!!!!!!

  35. I am quite proud of the fact that I was Principal of ISM from 1990 t0 1999. I remember all the students with great affection. – even the ones who gave me grief!! They were the best. Still in touch with many of then and so glad that they all survived and are doing well? Anyone remember the Maria from Argentina, Eduardo (Spain) and Tatiana Menendez od Panama and where they might be now?

    Nice to read current student Marwan saying nice postive things.

    Brendan Coffey

  36. And yes a new website is needed and internet in the school. This would be a great help for past students and current ones to saty in touch

    BC

  37. dear sir/madam

    i would like to know if there what is the procedure to register my kids and what is the school fees, and also i would like you to email me if you have school prospect as well

    sincerely yours

    AKRAM BANNUR

  38. I have tried calling ISM in Tripoli several times, its either busy or nobody picks up. Does anyone know how much are the school fees per year for Kindergarten?

  39. Hello everybody !

    I’m a student in Berlitz school ( Mizran st.) now but teachers focus on conversation more than anything else and my writing doesn’t seems to be improved since i joined the school.Today, While i was browsing internet i came across with this website and I noticed your impression by the oil school in Libya.Therefore, i want to ask you guys if it is really worth to change my school and apply in the oil school and if anyone has more details about it do inform me .Thank you !

  40. Hi everyone,

    Thanks for the comments. I for one is unable to answer the questions for you with regards to the condition of the school as I have left OCS ages ago…that is back in the late 80s. From what I know and have heard there are a number of choices for expats, ISM for one, there’s also the American School, the British School, GEMS – International School of Tripoli. Do google these names & I’m sure you will make the right choice. As for OCS, I’ll never forget the experience I had here. It was the best choice for me then….

  41. hi everyone i am lujain i am in ism school now since 2003 and now it is 2010 and next year i am going to grade 7 i think ism is tthe best school ever and i am gonna stay on it my wholw life enshallah:)

  42. I hear from some people that the school has a level tests? can someone from the school clarify that? and are there available places in grade 11 in this school year? thank you.

    1. The school still exist under a different name and management. I left in ’88 a year or 2 after the US bombings of Tripoli & Benghazi. I guess they decided to change the name of the school not long after that! It was known as CUSAM for a while before finally renaming it to ISM!

  43. Hi everybody,
    the school has been going through trouble lately, because of week leadership, the new Government has appointed new Libyan manager with experience in UK schools, however the past regime staff are opposing the change and causing big noise out of this, they threatening to block the school and instead of solving this professionally they are trying to get even the children involved into the issue.

  44. I went to OCS back in the 60’s and it was great then! Any one around the age of 50 who went therecan contact me on gordonhll4@gmail.com
    Hope to here from a few old friends maybe. (Annette Hollis, Jimmy Gregwaur, Missy Barton and the rest please?
    Kindest Regards,
    Gordon Hill

  45. There is a high possibility that ISM will close this year because of the current conflict in Libya but hopefully it will reopen. If ISM did close then it will be its first year to close since the 1958.(lets all pray it doesnt)

Leave a Reply

