A thank you note

What I recall about mom, back when she’s of the same age as me today.

Year: Summer of 1985 (if I calculated correctly, back then I was quite an ace in mathematics)
Place: Most probably living out of suitcase at the Beach Hotel, Tripoli, Libya

A diplomat’s wife having just arrived in a very foreign land and maybe harsh environment which is very much different from her motherland / homeland (I do not want to be accused of being gender biased here). I doubt it was easy for her; however, she somehow made the easy transition from a working woman to a full time housewife / homemaker! That’s not an easy feat, I assure you, for someone who spends her time in front of the screen from 9-5, 6 days a week (that’s part of the life of a computer programmer). What more, with a difficult child by her side who is as hardheaded as one could imagine!

There’s so much time on our side, so mom took me on a “journey” of getting to know each other. All this while I knew her as a disciplinarian (she got that from my grandpa, a policeman), not much of a doting mother. She has always been very strict and stern that whenever my cousin and I hear the car door being slammed, we practically dropped whatever we do (shut off the TV) and ran to the bathroom to have our bath. Mom is very particular about our study schedule / timetable. We have to be all cleaned up by 6 @ 7, dinner, homework and revision, rest for a short while to catch our fave show on TV be it Air Wolf @ 21 Jump Street and off to bed (all in that order)! While on weekends our time was spent at the library or art lessons.

While in Libya, I used to watch her cook or bake and even help her do the chores as we often had visitors coming over for tea or dinner. She’s one fine cook, too bad I don’t inherit her “talents”! However, I discovered the joy of travel through my mom. She’s inquisitive and unafraid to travel on her own and to explore the unknown. She doesn’t mind visiting the slums in India, to see firsthand the condition of the schools there or to the government owned schools in Libya (high school students in their military uniform etc.). I guess she would have been a great Minister of Education, if she ever was interested in politics, but as we all know politics is dirty!

Well, yes, that’s my mom. She doesn’t lavish me with gifts or pamper me but she surely lavish me with knowledge, instilled in me the discipline that has shaped me into who I am today. I may not be the perfect child or individual, but I am ME and I am thankful for my parents, who have supported and encouraged me over the years. I could not ask for a BETTER TEACHER.

Thank you, mama!

Leave a Reply

